Kalea Trio – Biography

Katie MacDonald, Anna Litvinenko, Beatriz Rola

Katie MacDonald, Anna Litvinenko, Beatriz Rola

“Who wrote the music?” is the typical question the Kalea Trio get asked. Flautist Katie MacDonald, violinist Beatriz Rola, and cellist Anna Litvinenko went from improvising at home as friends, to building an intense musical relationship, composing, improvising and performing together in varied forms and settings. All trained as classical musicians. Conservatoires include: The Juilliard School, New York; and in London, Guildhall School of Music and Drama, The Royal College of Music, The Royal Academy of Music; also, The Royal Conservatoire of the Hague, in Holland. From their collective experiences they have carved out a distinctive path towards their own music and collaborations with other artists who inspire them. Among their works, they are proud of their collaboration with poet Andrew Mitchell and artist Mary Kuper, creating multi-media performances based on Mitchell’s long narrative poems ‘Villa Diodati’ on the story of Frankenstein and “Written in Water” on the life, work and ideas of John Keats. These were performed at The British Library, London, at Keats House, London, and at the Keats-Shelley House, Rome.

Though their music has its roots in the classical tradition, each project takes its own unique direction. The trio’s distinctive style can be seen as the result of their diverse cultural backgrounds and great variety of musical interests, all of which makes their work exploratory in nature and accessible to a wide range of audiences.

Find us on Soundcloud

Comments are closed.